ACOPA Announces 2013-2014 Leadership

| August 14, 2013 | 0 Comments

ACOPA Elects New Leadership Council

CHICAGO, IL (August 14, 2013) – The ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries (ACOPA) announced Leadership Council election results Saturday at their annual business meeting held in conjunction with the ACOPA Actuarial Symposium in Chicago.

Thomas J. Finnegan, MSPA, CPC, QPA will serve as president of ACOPA for the 2013-2014 term. Finnegan is a former president of the American Society of Pension Professionals & Actuaries (ASPPA), a fellow of the Conference of Consulting Actuaries and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries (Academy) where he has served on their board. He has represented ASPPA and ACOPA on the Council of U.S. Presidents (CUSP) and the North American Actuarial Council (NAAC). Finnegan received ASPPA’s Educator’s Award in 2008, and is a frequent speaker at regional and national benefit and actuarial conferences. He has also authored articles for national actuarial publications as well as regional newsletters.

“The coming year should be exciting. I cannot wait to work with ACOPA and ASPPA leaders to bring our unique perspective to the ongoing national discussion about retirement policy,” said Finnegan.

ACOPA is governed by a Leadership Council nominated and elected by its members. ACOPA is responsible for meeting the education and training needs of pension actuaries, and representing the views of ASPPA’s actuarial membership by commenting on proposed regulations and legislation affecting actuarial issues. All credentialed actuarial members of ASPPA are members of ACOPA.

“Being ACOPA’s President for the 2012-13 term has been a real career highlight. I had the great pleasure of working with some wonderful volunteers and staff,” said Mark Dunbar, MSPA, outgoing president. “I truly believe that in the past year we have enhanced what it means to be an ACOPA member.”

Members of the ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries elected the following new officers for one-year terms beginning October 30, 2013:

ACOPA 2012-2013 Officers
Thomas J. Finnegan, MSPA, CPC, QPA (President)
Lynn Young, MSPA (President-Elect)
Karen Smith, MSPA (Executive Vice President)
Kurt Piper, MSPA (Vice President)
Richard Kutikoff, MSPA (Secretary)
Charles Klose, FSPA, CPC (Budget Officer)

ACOPA Leadership Council members elected for the new term are Raymond Berry, MSPA, Andrew Ferguson, MSPA and Eugene Joseph, MSPA, who will each serve three-year terms. These new members will join Cliff Woodhall, MSPA, Alan Stone, MSPA, Lauren Okum, MSPA, John Markley, FSPA, CPC, Steve Parks, MSPA, and William Karbon, MSPA, CPC, QPA on the Leadership Council, along with Past President Mark Dunbar and Penultimate Past President Joseph Nichols, MSPA.

# # #

About ASPPA: The American Society of Pension Professionals & Actuaries (ASPPA) is a national organization of more than 16,000 retirement plan and benefits professionals that serves as the educator, voice, and advocate for the employer-based retirement system. ASPPA members are administrators, actuaries, advisors, attorneys, accountants and other financial services professionals who provide consulting and administrative services for qualified retirement plans. For more information, visit

About ACOPA: The ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries (ACOPA) is a semi-autonomous operating unit within ASPPA. ACOPA is the primary source of professional organizational support for pension actuaries and manages the actuarial responsibilities of ASPPA, which is one of five recognized U.S. actuarial organizations. All credentialed actuarial members of ASPPA are members of ACOPA.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Latest News, Member Focus

About admin: View author profile.